Elks Hoop Shoot draws dozens of Perry-area youth

Winners in the 43rd annual Perry Elks Lodge Hoop Shoot were, from left, Karagyn Whelchel in the girls 8-9 class, Lydia Olejniczak in girls 10-11, Quinn Whiton in girls 12-13, Drake Levan in the boys 8-9 class, Erik Escobar in boys 10-11 and David Roberts in boys 12-13. Photo courtesy Kelly Whiton

The Perry Elks Lodge #407 hosted its 43rd annual Hoop Shoot contest Saturday at the Perry Middle School with about 30 area youngsters competing.

First-place winners in each group — three age brackets for girls and three for boys — now advance to the district contest slated for Saturday, Jan. 16 at the Storm lake High School in Storm Lake. There they face Elks Lodge winners from Ames, Estherville, Jefferson and Sioux City.

The Perry Elks Lodge will be represented in Storm Lake by:

Girls 8-9: Karagyn Whelchel
Boys 8-9: Drake Levan

Girls 10-11: Lydia Olejniczak
Boys 10-11: Erik Escobar

Girls 12-13: Quinn Whiton
Boys 12-13: David Roberts

District winners will compete at the state championship contest to be held Saturday, Feb. 27 in Grinnell. Winners the National Finals will have their names inscribed at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.