Faculty, staff, administration thanked for service Wednesday

Ready to rest from their 321 years of collective labor are PCSD retirees, front row from left, Catherine Petersen, Laura Painter, Kathleen Lipovac, Jolene Niemeyer, Lynn Ubben, Rose Anderson, Kaye Adair and Carolyn Sheehy; back row from left, Jim Richmond, David Loyd, Gary Czerniakowski, Roger Niemeyer and Damon Adair.

Thirteen plaques were awarded to 13 retirees from the Perry Community School District Wednesday afternoon “in appreciation for” their many years of “outstanding service.”

A festive crowd filled the Spring Valley Ballroom of the Hotel Pattee Wednesday afternoon to show their gratitude to a baker’s dozen of the Perry school system’s teachers, administrators and staff persons.

With the reception line stretching far out into the hotel’s Howard Ahmanson lobby, the 13 retirees greeted friends and well wishers for more than an hour before Perry School Board President Kyle Baxter called the room to order and started the brief ceremonies.

After a few words, Baxter presented the retirees with plaques reading, “In appreciation for” their many years “of outstanding service.”

Retirees include Damon Adair (33 years), Kaye Adair (27 years), Rose Anderson (15 years), Gary Czerniakowski (11 years), Kathleen Lipovac (22 years), David Loyd (21 years), Jolene Niemeyer (41 years), Roger Niemeyer (29 years), Laura Painter (26 years), Catherine Petersen (33 years), James Richmond (27 years), Carolyn Sheehy (28 years) and Lynn Ubben (eight years).

Retiring Perry Community School District Superintendent Lynn Ubben was joined at the reception by her mother, Marcy Ubben, from eastern Iowa.

“I never tire of saying it: Perry has a great school system,” Ubben said, “and I’m happy that Gary and I will be living here going forward.”

ThePerryNews gave Ubben special thanks for the many photographs she generously shared with local media during her tenure in Perry.


  1. Congratulations to all the retirees, and thanks for your many years of service to our school community. Special thanks to Superintendent Lynn Ubben for her support and attendance at all of the school events, something other superintendents in the past did not do. All of you will be missed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here