Kids compete in 51st annual Elks Hoop Shoot free throw contest

Winners of the 2023 Elks National Hoop Shoot Free Throw Contest were, from left, Veda Iben, Edylen Iben, Natalie Whiton, Drew Adai and Pierce Menke. Photo courtesy Perry Elks

Nineteen area hoop shooters competed Saturday morning in the 51st annual Elks National Hoop Shoot Free Throw Contest at the Perry High School gymnasium.

Six groups are open to competition, one each for boys and girls ages 8-9 years old, 10-11 years old and 12-13 years old. Perry’s 2023 winners were:

Boys 12-13: Pierce Menke
Girls 12-13: Natalie Whiton

Boys 10-11: Drew Adair
Girls 10-11: Edylen Iben

Boys 8-9: No entrant
Girls 8-9: Veda Iben

Local winners will advance to the second round in January in Jefferson.

Each of the youngsters received a complimentary basketball courtesy of the Perry Elks Lodge 407. Students from the Perry, ADM, Guthrie Center, Panorama and Woodward-Granger school districts were eligible.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.