Local rockers Wilson, Thompson to enter Iowa Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame


Two veteran Iowa rockers with roots in the Perry area will be inducted into the Iowa Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame in ceremonies Sunday at Lake Okoboji.

J. C. Wilson of Perry, longtime guitar wizard with the Flying Marsupials, and Toaster rocker Hal Thompson of Minburn will join the select company of more than 400 musical artists inducted by the Iowa Rock ‘n’ Roll Music Association into the Hall of Fame since 1997.

jc wilson
J. C. Wilson

Wilson’s induction is in concert with the Flying Marsupials band, who formed in 1989 and quickly established themselves as a premier party band in central Iowa. Taking the stage with Wilson Sunday in Arnold’s Park will be fellow marsupials Andy TeBockhorst, Scott Rohden, Mark Leeper, Lance Eaton and Steve Rorebeck.

Wilson’s musical pedigree predates his marsupial days by nearly 20 years. His first public performance was in the gymnasium at St. Patrick School in Perry in 1972 as a member of the Perry teen sensations Fixx.

Wilson and fellow Fixx fixtures Mark Einck, Jim Wuebker and Larry Nichols later rebranded themselves Rukkus, and the band went through various changes in membership through the years, as did the lineup of the Flying Marsupials. All the players had full-time lives outside the bands, and Wilson himself is now the owner and operator of the Otley Cat bar in Perry and Streetcar 209, a Des Moines nightclub formerly known as the House of Bricks.

The band still plays publicly on rare occasions. Wilson said the 20-minute set Sunday at Okoboji might well be the last show for the Flying Marsupials.

Hal Thompson
Hal Thompson

Minburn rocker Thompson has played professionally, both with Toaster and as a solo artist, for more than 20 years. He wrote, recorded and produced his own records and still plays guitar for Toaster, moving easily between lead and rhythm guitar and hard rock and soft folk. He also teaches songwriting, voice, theory and studio production.

This year’s Iowa Rock ‘n’ Roll Music Association Hall of Fame inductees include six bands and two individual performers, plus three non-performing bands, two “Women Who Rock,” a border band and several lifetime achievement award winners. The association also honors notable venues, DJs and supporters as well as an annual Spirit Award winner.

The rock ‘n’ roll weekend will start Friday night with a lifetime members’ party in the Majestic Pavilion at Arnold’s Park, followed by a kick-off concert in the Roof Garden Ballroom. Saturday will be busy, beginning with a pancake breakfast and including an opening ceremony, silent auction, vintage car show, swap meet, battle of the bands, ice cream social and an evening meet and greet for inductees and the public — formerly known as groupies.

Sunday’s induction ceremony starts at 2 p.m. in the Sami Center, followed by an autograph party in the Majestic Pavilion at 4:30 p.m.  The Induction Spectacular Concert starts at 6:30 p.m. and jams until midnight in the Roof Garden Ballroom.

Here is the full lineup of 2016 Hall of Fame inductees:

  • Bands: Flying Marsupials (Central Region), Lynn Allen (Southeast Region), Mourning Glory Rock Band (Northwest Region), Street Band (Northwest Region), Drivetime (West River Region), Dahcotah (Northeast Region)
  • Individual Performers: Johnny Rogers (Northeast Region), Hal Thompson (Central Region)
  • Non-performing Bands: Larry Rai & the Redtops (Southwest Region), Blue Flames (Northeast Region), Landslide (Southeast Region)
  • Women Who Rock: Shannon Price (Southeast Region), Janey Hooper (Central Region)
  • Border Band: The Trippers (Sioux Falls, SD)
  • Venues: KRNT Theater (Central Region), Steyer Opera House (Northeast Region)
  • IRRMA Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Cuttell (Northwest Region), John Scherle (Southwest Region), Dennis Farland (Central Region)
  • Matousek Family Lifetime Achievement Award: Mark Vos (Southeast Region)
  • Support: Ed Ring (Southeast Region)
  • DJ: Steve Mathews (Central Region)
  • Spirit Award: Joel Helgren (Northeast Region), Diane Sanders (Southeast Region), Scott Pyle (Northwest Region), Byron Stuart (Northwest Region)

Here is the lineup for Sunday’s Induction Spectacular Concert:

  • 6:30-6:50 Battle of the Bands Winner
  • 6:50-7:00 Changeover
  • 7:00-7:25 Flying Marsupials
  • 7:25-7:35 Changeover
  • 7:35-8:00 Mourning Glory Rock Band
  • 8:00-8:10 Changeover
  • 8:10-8:50 IRRMA All-Stars
  • 8:50-9:00 Changover
  • 9:00-9:25 Lynn Allen
  • 9:25-9:35 Changeover
  • 9:35-10:00 The Street Band
  • 10:00-10:10 Changeover
  • 10:10-10:35 Drivetime
  • 10:35-10:45 Changeover
  • 10:45-11:10 DeeJay and the Runaways
  • 11:10-11:20 Changeover
  • 11:20-11:45 The Velaires

For more detailed information, visit the Iowa Rock ‘n’ Roll Music Association website.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.