Myrna Reynoldson Mayfield Trust names 2020 grant winners


The Myrna Reynoldson Mayfield Trust announced Wednesday a total of $43,825 in grants were awarded for the benefit of the citizens of the city of Woodward and the surrounding rural area in the 2020 granting cycle.

Grant recipients include:

  • Woodward United Methodist Church: $4,500 for Christian education and materials, youth group and pastor education
  • Woodward United Methodist Church Outreach Committee: $1,600 for School Supply Drive
  • Woodward-Granger Community School District Middle School/High School Music Department: $7,000 to update sound and recording system
  • Woodward Senior Citizens Housing Inc.: $3,000 for sidewalk replacement at uptown apartments
  • 14U Sandlot Baseball: $625 for tournament costs
  • Woodward Public Library: $4,500 for programming, Adventure Passes and Des Moines Register
  • City of Woodward Parks and Recreation DEpartment: $7,000 for concrete work at Honor Park
  • Woodward Police Department: $5,000 for Police Reserve Officer Program
  • Woodward Golf Club: $4,000 for pool furniture
  • American Legion Post 211: $1,000 for scholarships and Boy’s State registration
  • Woodward-Granger Hawks 10u & 12u Softball: $2,060 to purchase equipment
  • Woodward-Granger Community School District Baseball: $3,540 for Outfield Fence Green Slats

In addition, scholarships totaling $2,500 will be awarded to two Woodward-Granger High School students and graduates for their post-high school education.

The Myrna Reynoldson Mayfield Trust is a non-profit organization that makes annual distributions in the city of Woodward and adjacent rural areas for educational, civic, cultural, historical, recreational, charitable, religious and other purposes calculated to be of worth to the citizens of the area and consistent with the intentions of the late Myrna Reynoldson Mayfield, a longtime Woodward resident.

The annual application deadline is April 1. Questions about the grant and scholarship guidelines and application forms may be directed to the directors of the Trust: Chairperson Milt Heifner, Vice Chair Mike Ramsey and Secretary Rich Danilson or to the attorney for the Trust, C. Scott Finneseth of Finneseth, Dalen and Powell PLC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.