Panorama gridders earn All-State and All-District honors

All-State and All-District honors were earned by several members of the playoff-qualifying Panorama football team. Photo submitted.

PANORA — The Panorama football team finished 8-2 this season, with a 4-1 mark in Class 1A District 8. Those results sent the Panthers into the playoffs, and now many of the players who made the success possible have been rewarded with special recognition.

The Iowa Print Sportswriters Association recently voted four Panthers onto their All-State team, with that quartet joined by 10 teammates in garnering All-District 8 honors. The full IPSWA All-State teams, including class captains, has been made available.

Chosen for the Second Team All-State squad were senior kick/punt returner Luke South and sophomore offensive lineman Jared Wasson.

South returned six kickoffs for 264 total yards and two touchdowns while bringing back 22 punts for 201 yards, an average of 9.1 per attempt. Wasson helped Panorama pass for 1,520 yards and 12 TDs and rush 317 times for 1,038 yards and 21 scores.

Junior twins Drew and Evan Taylor were both chosen for Third Team, both at linebacker. Drew had 55.5 tackles, 11 for a loss of yardage and three sacks, with Evan making 37.5 stops, four for loss and with three sacks as well. Evan also intercepted two passes, returning one for a TD, while also falling on a fumble.

Both Taylors were also First Team D8 picks, as was Wasson and South (at receiver, where he caught 18 passes for 314 yards and a score). Also named to the First Team was junior defensive back Preston Walker, who had 37.5 tackles (three for loss) and a fumble recovery.

Senior receiver Jackson Carstens (22-184, 1 TD) and junior wide out Lucas Leiferman (13-102, 2 TDs) were picked for the All-D8 Second Team, as was defensive lineman Cooper Anderson (32 tackles, six for loss, three sacks and a fumble recovery) and junior linebacker Wyatt Appleseth (41.5 tackles, 10 for loss, four sacks, one interception for a TD and three fumbles fallen upon). They were joined on the Second Team by junior defensive back Zach Rizzuti (17.5 tackles, two for loss and three interceptions, one for a score) and junior offensive lineman Trent Hambleton.

Junior quarterback Domonic Walker was an Honorable Mention choice. He was 98-184-4 for 1,313 yards and 11 TDs through the air while rushing 118 times for 334 yards and eight TDs. Also picked as Honorable Mention were junior defensive lineman Kade Arganbright (30.5 tackles, three for loss, one fumble recovery) and junior offensive lineman Jared Henderson.

Mike Kauzlarich is head coach for the Panthers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.