Perry places eight gridders on All-District teams

Perry had eight players named to the Class 3A All-District 8 teams, all of which were picked from the Bluejay defense.

Junior defensive lineman Emmanuel Soto led the Class 3A All-District 8 honorees for Perry by being the lone Bluejay to earn First Team status.

Eight players from Perry (0-7, 0-5) were recognized for their play. The exclusion of Des Moines Hoover left five teams to fill the spots, helping Perry lift their number from seven all-district players last year to eight this season.

Soto finished with 40 total tackles on the season, including one sack and six stops behind the line of scrimmage.

Junior Tanner Burgin and sophomore Juan Hernandez were each tabbed for the Second Team at defensive back, with sophomore linebacker Gavin Hegstrom also a Second Team pick.

Burgin had 19 tackles and Hernandez 14. The latter also had an interception, with Hegstrom picking off one pass, landing on one fumble and making 22 tackles, which included a half-sack and half-tackle for loss.

Four Bluejay defensive lineman were placed on the Honorable Mention lists. Noted for their play were seniors Francisco Colin, Dalton Scott, and Miguel Sierra, with junior Pablo Calderon also tabbed. Sierra was chosen for the second consecutive season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.