Perry students first in line at DMACC Automotive Signing Day

DMACC Automotive Signing Day students are, front row from left, Dylan Biase of Des Moines, Erick Funez of Perry, Benjamin Gilbert of Ankeny, Brock Buenger of Norwalk, Kaleb Heriford of Bedford and Koby Gardner of Des Moines; back row from left, Kody Massman of Ankeny, Edward Pulver of Boone, James McBride of Jefferson, Noah Bollhoefer of Ames, Josh Skipworth Rist of Altoona, Clinton Adams of Huxley, Jonathan Garcia of Dexter, Michael Williams of Des Moines, Gage Laws of Perry, William Thomas of Ankeny, Adam Shearer of West Des Moines, Blake Waters of Polk City, Tyson Armour of Ankeny, Loren Hoskins of Nevada, Collin Maag of Scottsbluff, Nebraska, John Harding of Des Moines and Chadley Royal of Ankeny. Photo courtesy DMACC

ANKENY, Iowa — Perry High School seniors Erick Funez and Gage Laws were among 23 future DMACC students who recently participated in the second annual DMACC Automotive Signing Day, a recognition of their joining the award-winning DMACC Automotive Technology Programs in fall 2020.

The signing day recognized the first of about 100 students who will join DMACC automotive programs in the fall, with each student signing an official letter of intent. The DMACC Automotive Signing Day was held in connection with National Career and Technical Education (CTE) Signing Day.

Just as student-athletes who commit to play a college sport are celebrated, so the DMACC Automotive Signing Day ceremony is designed to honor students who are entering a technical field and emphasizing the importance of their career choice. One lucky signer student was announced as the winner of a $500 DMACC Automotive Technology scholarship, and Snap-on Tools presented each student with a $250 gift.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.