Perry swimmers top Manning, fall in trip to Denison

Delaney Platt (8U) was one of three Perry girls to set new team records June 30 during a win against Manning.

The Perry Summer Swim Team won their final home meet of the season June 30 with a 372-145 win over Manning. The victory came five days after the team suffered a 345-251 setback at Denison.

Three new team records were set against Manning, all of them in the long freestyle.

Delaney Platt was the first to alter the record books by resetting her own girls 8U mark of 49.01 seconds. Jaylene Karolus followed Platt’s lead in the 9-10 girls race by lowering her own standard with a new target time of 37.1

Breanna Penenger (13-14) decided to make it three new team records in three straight girls heats, as she topped the long-held mark of Serenity Ewing with a new standard of 1 minute, 10.96 seconds.

Platt, Stephanie Hill (13-14) and Haileigh Kenyon (15-18) led the Perry girls with five wins apiece, with Karolus and Haley Vaughn (15-18) both recording four victories.

Triple wins were earned by Sophia McDevitt and Addison Huntington (both 9-10) and Penenger, with Emily Dowd (9-10), Sarah Vaughn, Anna Ridnour, Dannah Karolus and Avery Miner (all 13-14) winning two times each while Ainsley Marburger (11-12) and Madyson Hill (13-14) had single wins.

Chase Archer (13-14) and Devon Archer and Caleb Winey (both 15-18) were five-time winners for the boys team, with Dylan Winey (11-12) tallying four victories and Andrew Dowd (11-12) and Ethan Winey (13-14) three wins apiece.

Double-wins went to Aiden Burgin (8U), Garrett Winey (9-10), Riese Archer and Khyler Carstarphen (both 11-12) and Alex Thompson (15-18) with Alec Burgin (8U) also earning a victory.

Platt was the only Perry swimmer with five wins against Denison, with Hill and Kenyon both recording four wins. Haley Vaughn had three wins and Dannah Karolus two, with single wins tallied by Jaylene Karolus, Sarah Vaughn, Ridnour, Penneger and Miner.

Devon Archer’s four wins led the Perry boys, with Caleb Winey winning three times and both Alex Thompson and Ethan Winey twice each. Single victories were claimed by Alec Burgin, Garrett Winey and Chase Archer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.