Perry’s Olejniczak, Kruger garner All-Conference honors

Freshman Alyssa Kruger (left) and sophomore Emma Olejniczak were both recently named to the All-Raccoon River Conference softball teams. Olejniczak was selected for the First Team, with Kruger chosen for Honorable Mention status.

Sophomore Emma Olejniczak and freshman Alyssa Kruger were recently named to the All-Raccoon River Conference softball teams.

Olejniczak was named to the First Team while Kruger was placed on the Honorable Mention list. The conference does not assign positions to players.

Olejniczak made 31 starts on the rubber as Perry’s ace, finishing with a 12-18 mark with one save for the Jayettes (15-19). She allowed 110 runs (61 earned) for an ERA of 2.16 while yielding 151 hits, walking 54 and hitting five batters in 198 innings in the circle. Opponents hit .182 off Olejniczak this season.

Her 261 strikeouts were second-best in Class 4A, trailing only the 386 tallied by ADM junior Molly Jacobsen, who threw 50-2/3 more innings. Third in 4A was another RRC hurler, Carlisle junior Gabby Schnathorst, who fanned 198 batters in 206 innings. Olejniczak, who became the Jayette’s main arm as an eighth-grader, now has 563 career strikeouts in 572-1/3 frames.

At the plate, Olejniczak was 38-of-111 (.342) with 10 doubles and 13 RBIs. She scored 16 runs and had an on-base percentage of .392.

Kruger completed her second year as the starting left fielder for Perry. She was 29-of-96 (.302) with three doubles, four triples and one home run while driving in 11 runs. Kruger scored 12 runs, drew 11 walks and posted on on-base clip of .391.

The freshman made three appearances as a pitcher, winning one decision and recording one save in nine total innings. She allowed four runs (two earned) for an ERA of 1.56, yielding five hits and striking out six.

Perry recently held an end-of-season banquet, where five team awards were presented. Olejniczak won the “Team Spark” and Kruger the “100 Percent Effort” awards, with Rachel Kinney claiming the “Hustle” award, Johanna Diw the “Most Improved” honor and Brooke Huntington the “Inspirational” award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.