Tornado watch until 10 p.m. Wednesday for nine counties


Cass, Crawford and Greene counties have been added to the tornado watch issued this afternoon by the Des Moines office of the National Weather Service (NWS) until 10 p.m. Wednesday.

Other counties under the tornado watch are Adair, Adams, Audubon, Cass, Guthrie and Taylor.

Hazardous weather is also possible in Dallas County and the following counties, according to the NWS: Hancock, Cerro Gordo, Pocahontas, Humboldt, Wright, Franklin, Butler, Bremer, Sac, Calhoun, Webster, Hamilton, Hardin, Grundy, Black Hawk, Crawford, Carroll, Greene, Boone, Story, Marshall, Tama, Polk, Jasper, Poweshiek, Cass, Madison, Warren, Marion, Mahaska, Adams, Union, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Wapello, Taylor, Ringgold, Decatur, Wayne, Appanoose and Davis.

Scattered showers and thunderstorms are possible over northern Iowa, and numerous strong to severe thunderstorms are forecast over much of southern and central Iowa up to around Iowa Highway 18 later this afternoon and evening.

Large hail, damaging winds and a few tornadoes are all possible with these thunderstorms. Locally heavy rain is also possible. will update this story as weather information becomes available.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here