UPDATE: Tornado watch until 9 p.m. for Perry area


The National Weather Service office in Des Moines issued a tornado watch at 2:40 p.m. Saturday that will be in effect until 9 p.m. for the Perry area.

Along with Dallas County, the folowing Iowa counties are included in the tornado watch: Appanoose, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Muscatine, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story, Tama, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Wayne and Webster.

Storm spotters from the Perry, Dawson, Minburn, Redfield and Dexter fire department and first responders were dispatched about 2:30 p.m. Saturday by the Dallas County Emergency Management Agency for a storm cell moving northeast from the Greenfield area and bringing hail and “tornadic activity,” according to the Dallas County Sheriff’s office communications center.

The National Weather Service in Des Moines has not issued a tornado watch or severe thunderstorm watch as of 2:45 p.m. Saturday.

ThePerryNews.com will update this weather story as forecasts evolve.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.