Woodward-Granger hosts annual Dennis Field Invitational

Woodward-Granger 285-pounder Alex Evans, shown earlier this season, won twice Tuesday and again in his lone match Thursday. Photo courtesy Jessica Sheeder-Gohn.

WOODWARD — Host Woodward-Granger dominated the action Saturday at the Dennis Field Invitational, sending 11 of 14 wrestlers to the finals and claiming five championships en route to an easy team win.

W-G amassed 176.5 points, easily besting Marstensdale-St. Marys (115) for top honors. Southeast Warren was third at 102, with Collins-Maxwell (52), Colfax-Mingo (48.5), Western Christian (43), Roland-Story (42), Baxter (39) and Coon Rapids-Bayard (15) also in action.

Peyton Nixon (113 pounds), Riece Graham (126), Jon McKeever (170), Devan Brown (195), and Alex Evans (285) each won their weight class, with Alex Saxton (106), Jayden Flugge-Smith (145), Dustin Harney (152), Jackson Potter (160), Kade Polich (182), and Kolby Fogarty (220) all placing second.

The Hawks also received points from Joel Harney (third at 120), from Corbyn Atwell (fourth at 132) and from Tjaden Smeltzer (fourth at 138).

Nixon won his division with a pair of pins, sticking SEW’s Ian Schneider in 2 minutes, 38 seconds and M-SM’s Christian Coate in 2:20 while Graham went 5-0, with a pair of technical falls followed by two pins and a 9-5 win over John McGill of Colfax-Mingo in the finals.

McKeever pinned Tanner Dierking of SEW in 5:57 of his final match to finish with three pins while Brown had a pair of pins and Evans a decision and two pins, the last of which came over SEW’s Tate Dierking in 2:49.

Saxton was 3-1 with a trio of pins at 106, with Flugge-Smith 3-1 with three pins at 145 while Dustin Harney was 4-1 at 152 with three pins and a major decision. Potter was 2-2 at 160 with two pins, with Polich 3-1 with three pins at 182 while Fogarty was 1-1 with a decision at 220.

Atwell (132) was 1-2 with a pin, with Smeltzer (138) 1-3 with a pin while Joel Harney (120) could not record a win in two matches.

W-G will host Colfax-Mingo, Ogden, and Perry for a quadrangular Tuesday before visiting West Marshall Thursday. They will then compete at the Ogden Tourney Saturday.

A reminder that W-G home events allow only two spectators per grappler or official. Fans can watch a livestream of the event on the W-G school district Youtube page.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.