County honors newly humbled public-sector workers


While Iowa’s state-level lawmakers took the opportunity during the current legislative session to strip the state’s public-sector unions of many of their bargaining rights and powers, at the level of county government proceeds much as usual, with employees from 10 departments of Dallas County services receiving certificates of appreciation Tuesday in recognition of their tenure of work.

The 18 employees were thanked for their 200 years of collective labor on behalf of the residents of Dallas County. Under the terms of the union reform law passed Feb. 16 in Des Moines, seniority-related benefits will be only subject to negotiation in future contracts if both the union and the employer agree to make them subject.

Recognized for five years of service were Emily Reidburn, Community Services; Rose Seibert, Public Health; Dwight Stearns, Sheriff’s office; and Heather Brown, Treasurer’s office.

Recognized for 10 years of service were Sarah Murphy, Information Services; Samuel Larson, Planning and Development; Michael Wetrich, Secondary Roads; Thomas Peterson, Sheriff’s office; Melinda Harney, Board of Supervisors; and Alicia Liby, Sheriff’s office.

Recognized for 15 years of service were Bryan De Jong, Secondary Roads; Jon Hupp, Secondary Roads; Michael Wallace, Conservation Board; Todd Noah, Information Services; and Kim Jones, Secondary Roads.

Recognized for 20 years of service was Timothy Morlan, Emergency Medical Services.

Recognized for 25 years of service was Murray McConnell, Planning and Development.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here