Diaz, Landgrebe lead in Perry School Board voting Tuesday

Poll workers at the McCreary Community Building in Perry finalize the vote tally Tuesday night with a long tape of writ-in votes for the Ward 2 seat on the Perry City Council.

Dedicated poll workers at the McCreary Community Building in Perry spent 13 hours on duty Tuesday and deserve the community’s thanks.

Tuesday saw 567 votes cast at the McCreary Community Building in Perry, with the contest for two seats on the Perry Community School District Board of Directors taking the only contested race.

The unofficial record showed that Eddie Diaz received a total of 391 votes or 42.9% of the ballots cast. Travis Landgrebe got 293 votes or 32.16%, and Kyle Baxter received 214 votes for 23.49%.

Thirteen write-in votes were cast in Perry.

Greene County voters in the PCSD cast two votes for Diaz. Results from the Boone County polls are not yet available. Election commissioners in the three counties have yet to count absentee ballots.

In the contests for city offices in Perry, incumbent Perry Mayor John Andorf received 459 votes or 93.67% of all votes cast, and incumbent at-large Perry City Council member Vicki Klein earned 446 votes or 92.55%. Both candidates ran unopposed.

In the Ward 2 race, 34 write-in ballots were cast. The Dallas County Elections Commissioner has two weeks to certify the city and school election results in the county.

ThePerryNews.com will update this story as information becomes available.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.