Perry High School seniors receive scholarships and awards

Though they could not be present, the Perry High School seniors who received scholarships and awards Thursday were pictured during a live Facebook stream presented by PHS.

The live streaming on Facebook of the Perry High School Senior Awards Night Thursday was well-received, based on numerous remarks left in the virtual comment section by some the several hundred who watched the event.

PHS Principal Dan Marburger and several members of the PHS administration and staff and select presenters from the public announced the winners of each of the 38 awards on stage at the Perry Performing Arts Center.

Social distancing and restrictions on mass gatherings forced the event to be shown online, and though the students were not present, each had their senior picture displayed on a large screen when they received a particular honor.

The comment section soon filled with positive reactions to how the event was showcased, as well as with a long string of congratulatory messages from the family and friends of those rewarded.

While there were 38 scholarships and awards given, many had multiple recipients, with 139 individual gifts presented. In total, the PHS Class of 2020 received well over $80,000 in financial benefits to further their academic careers. Each award was given a brief introduction in order to honor the generosity of the benefactors.

The event is posted online for viewing and can be found at Perry High School on

Perry High School Class of 2020 Senior Awards

The Barnes Memorial Scholarship: Angela Hernandez ($500)
Beasley-Mills Memorial Scholarships: Cassidy Heck, Carly Herrera, Myka Meri, Odaly Perla, Fatima Rodriquez, Sarah Vaughn ($500), Angela Hernandez ($600)
Beta Sigma Phi Sorority: Hannah Peterson ($500)
Bluejay Staff Scholarship: MaryLou Ledsma, Jason Wells ($250)
The Mary Boyer Trust: Rylynn Gilmore ($500)
Dr. Eugene Brady Memorial Scholarship: Lexie Welch ($500)
Joshua Davis Memorial Award: Kaden Boyer, Hannah Peterson ($1500)
Chapter DE, P.E.O.: Maria Izquierdo ($300)
Chapter OK, P.E.O.: Jasmin Olmos ($300)
The Perry Elks Lodge #407: Taylor Eppert, Avery Miner, Lexie Welch ($250)
Dan Garber Wrestling Scholarship: Bryan Funez, Erick Funez ($250)
E. Ruth Garren Scholarship: Yamileth Figueroa ($1000), Katelyn Saldana (1200), Denise Mejia (2000), Destiny Delacruz (3000)
HUP-Hispanic United for Perry: Beyonce Gonzalez, Deborah Mateso, Katelyn Saldana ($500)
Kiwanis: Carly Herrera, Zoe Meyer, Hannah Peterson ($1000)
Knights of Columbus: Chase Archer, Mary Ann Riesberg, Sarah Vaughn ($250)
Ladies Golf Scholarship: MaryLou Ledesma, Molly Lutmer ($250)
Lifeserve Blood Center Scholarship: Tomas Lopez ($500)
Lloyd and Anne Lane Scholarship: Nevaeh Carter,Tyler Fessler, Maria Izquierdo, Bree Martin, Hayden McFarland, Amos Munoz, Sierra Shore-Newton, Kisanet Yohannes ($500), Molly Lutmer, Cole Snyder, Carlos Vargas ($750)
Madelon Capp Carlile Scholarship: Chase Archer, Jasmyn Barck, Kaylynn Bousman, Narale Cerna, Paola Gomez, Jaqueline Guardado, Luis Guzman, Sydney Helmers, Kelsey James, Tomas Lopez, Molly Lutmer, Collin Malmberg, Eden Mehari, Avery Miner, Jacob Nelson, Magley Orellana, Bailey Piper, Andrea Rivas, Cole Snyder, Jevan Stokely, Kolby Wolfe, Jamie Woodworth ($500), Taylor Eppert, Montserrat Gonzalez, MaryLou Ledesma, Zoe Meyer, Felicity Murphy, Odaly Perla, Nathaly Ramirez, Mary Ann Riesberg, Lexie Welch ($1,000)
Mary Waggie Scholarship: Myka Meri ($500)
Millard and Blanche White Scholarship: Taylor Eppert ($250)
Trent Miner Memorial Scholarship: Chase Archer, Jasmyn Barck, Kato Dougan, Beyonce Gonzalez, Charley Guardado, Carly Herrera, Molly Lutmer, Bree Martin, Zoe Meyer, Magley Orellana, Odaly Perla, Hannah Peterson, Sarah Vaughn ($400), Avery Miner ($800)
Christopher Muhs Memorial Scholarship: Sarah Vaughn ($500)
Nailea Marquez Memorial Scholarship: Chase Archer ($175)
Optimist Club of Perry Scholarship: Taylor Eppert, Odaly Perla, Lexie Welch ($400)
Perry Education Association: Odaly Perla, Mary Ann Riesberg ($500)
Perry Lion’s Club: Jocelyn Nunez ($500)
Perry Rotary Club: Chase Archer, Odaly Perla, Fatima Rodriguez ($1000)
PHS Science-Tech Scholarship: Keghan West ($400)
Raccoon Valley Bank: Beyonce Gonzalez, Jacob Nelson ($750)
Tom Schleicher Memorial Scholarship: Kaylynn Bousman ($100)
Bill Secress Memorial Scholarship: Nathan Galindo ($500)
Darin Steva Memorial Scholarship: Sierra Shore-Newton ($100)
Tyson Scholarships: Paola Gomez, Luis Guzman, Carly Herrera, MaryLou Ledesma ($1000)
Van Kirk Scholars: Karen Amaya, Narale Cerna, Jarely Cisneros, Samantha Dahm, Kato Dougan, Adrianna Escalante, Bryan Funez, Erick Funez, Yasmin Gonzalez, Charley Guardado, Angela Hernandez, Deborah Mateso, Ivy Medina, Bryon Melendrez, Jacob Nelson, Joscelyn Nunez, Magley Orellana, Jocelyn Ramirez, Wilber Ramirez, Ever Tobar, Kolby Wolfe, Alexa Zarate ($500), Nathan Galindo, Octavio Medina, Dakoda Strough, Tucker Strough ($750), Anthony Burgos ($1000)
Virgina O’Brien Scholarship: Zoe Meyer ($1000)
Judge Van Wifvat Memorial: Andrianna Escalante ($1000)
Francis and Carma Wilson Memorial Scholarship: Nathan Galinda ($500)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.