All-State teams include seven RRC players

Alex Long (left) stands with his grandfather, Perry skipper Mike Long, and with his fellow senior Kade Van Kirk after the two were honored before the final home game of their prep career July 13.

DES MOINES — The Iowa Newspaper Association sportswriters voted seven players from the Raccoon River Conference to their Class 4A All-State teams. No players from Perry were selected.

Two Carlisle seniors — first baseman Anthony Hanson and outfielder Peyton Stephens — were chosen for the First Team from the state runner-up Wildcats. Winterset senior catcher Colby Van Pelt and Bondurant-Farrar senior outfielder Payton Duit were also tabbed for the First Team.

B-F senior outfielder Jarrid Clark was picked for the Second Team, with Carlisle senior infielder Jordan Pierce and Boone junior infielder Tanner Schminke both voted to the Third Team.

Perry finished 11-20 overall and 5-9 in RRC competition.

The full lists of all classes, the class captains and voters can be found here.

Join the team and help keep local sports coming with a $5-per-month donation to To get started, simply click the Paypal link below.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.