Perry harriers in action at ADM Invite Monday

Perry senior Jeb Stewart navigates the course Monday at the ADM Invite in Adel. Photo courtesy Shaylena Bell.

ADEL — The Perry cross country teams returned to action Monday with a visit to the ADM Invitational.

The Perry boys was 10th in a 10-team field with 244 points, with North Polk (30), ADM (50), and Des Moines Christian (52) finishing 1-2-3.

Nate Mueller (ADM) won the boys race in 16 minutes, 45 seconds, with Carson Houg (DMC) second in 16:51 and Zach Sporaa (NP) third in 16:54.

Jayson Chavez (36th, 21:03) led the Perry finishers, with Johnathan Munoz (44th, 22:27) and Jeb Stewart (46th, 22:29) the next two Bluejays to finish. Johnathan Chavez (57th, 23:34) and Bryce Anliker (61st, 24:14) also scored for Perry.

ADM (59), DC-G (65), and DMC (73) were the top three placers in the girls varsity team race. Perry had only four runners and thus did not generate a team score, with the Jayettes missing lead runner Jaylene Karolus, who was forced into quarantine when a member of the swim team (for which she also competes) recently tested positive for COVID-19.

Geneva Timmerman (ADM) won the girls title in 19:23, with Van Meter’s Clare Kelly(21:15) and Mary Kelly (21:20) placing 2-3.

Mason Hoffman (28:49) and Kyle Hernandez (31:59) competed for the Bluejay junior varsity, with the Jayettes not having any JV runners.

Both Perry Middle School teams were in action, running two-mile courses.

Oscar Beltrand was 5th overall for Perry in 12:45, with Owen Meyers 19th in 13:43. Aiden Carlson (36th, 14:56), Thaddeus Stuart (43rd, 15:52), and Reygan Girkins (48th, 16:18) ran for the Jays as well, as did Renzo Saenz (54th, 16:56) and Carlos Ruiz (57th, 17:36).

A full seven-member Jayette MS unit was on the course as well, with Julie Maylum (21st, 15:56), Olivia Christensen (24th, 16:06), and Quinn Mahler-Moreno (30th, 16:39) leading the way. Taryn Nehring (46th, 17:38), Mercedes Ponce (48th, 17:41), Mylah Meis (55th, 18:40), and Maria Aguilar (57th, 19:50) also competed for Perry.

Perry will send all teams to AC/GC Thursday when they compete at the Charger Invitational.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.